Daily Archives: June 11, 2009

ff&f style update #1

I am not an authority on style. My grandpa and grandpas everywhere inform way too many of my clothing decisions and my color palette rarely strays from WASPy pastels and autumn neutrals. With that in mind, take these “style” updates with a grain of salt… or don’t take them at all, and leave it to the experts (like Ming at The Swatorialist)

Today’s featured item is the Zig Zag Canvas Shoe.

da02_1

I spotted them looking here: http://themoment.blogs.nytimes.com/2009/05/28/the-high-low-zig-zag-canvas-shoes-20/. The High Low aspect of the blog is fun, since the rest of the featured items are usually absurdly pricey.

Somehow, the NYT fashion writer used the word “chic” for these shoes, but I don’t really see it. What I like best about these shoes is that they don’t look new or fresh. They look tried-and-true, like the walking shoes my grandpa wore. I guess the grey ones featured in the blog are a bit “cooler,” but the light brown color is perfect for going to class in the fall. I might buy 2 because of combined shipping and the reasonable price tag.