Daily Archives: May 14, 2009

Graduations, Mango Raita, Raw-Vegan dieting Grandmas…

Today and Tomorrow are the ceremonies for my sister’s graduation from college. Today was for ArtSci people because her school is large and everyone deserves appropriate recognition. Plus, putting that many camera-ready parents and grandparents in a room might suffocate the many bored and hungry younger siblings. 

Anyway, early this morning as my parents sauntered off to get a good seat at an unreasonably early time, I stayed at my sister’s apartment to watch her and her three friends get ready and avoid the inevitable talk of graduation. One clever diversion was complaining about family members. The winner of hilarious family member’s goes to a grandma on a raw-vegan diet. This lovely lady diets like I exercise: feigning commitment, while reaching for a cheeseburger. On a trip to Whole Foods she finished off a lovely veggie platter with hand selected broccoli. Sounds fine, except that these broccoli were cooked with and covered in bacon. She ate it anyway. In a list of reasons why I love the elderly, I believe this is the embodiment of reason # 3: Following through on things stated or believed in ended at least 40 years ago. (FYI # 1: Tried and true recipes, # 2 : Stories need not have a point or a distinguishable beginning or end, AND # 4: Driving is a term that may be loosely interpreted)

 

After the ceremony, the fam went off to lunch at a casual and fun place called Duff’s. (see http://www.dineatduffs.com/ ) I had the Jerk Chicken Sandwich. It was a tough choice between what I ordered and the B.L.A.S.T., but I am happy with my choice because of the special condiment: Mango Raita. Sweet and Tangy Raita on top of Spicy Chicken breast was a great combination. The pickle accompaniment was pretty great as well. The Brownie dessert was served with particularly good ice cream. I know it seems like a dessert that always works, but often times the brownie just is not good enough to hold its own with a big scoop of ice cream and gobs of hot fudge. 

After Googling mango raita I came across a whole bunch of recipes for Mango Raita…

Mango Raita From epicurious.com

  • 1/4 English hothouse cucumber, diced (about 1 cup)
  • 1 mango, peeled, diced (about 1 cup)
  • 1/4 cup plain yogurt
  • 2 tablespoons thinly sliced fresh mint leaves
  • 2 teaspoons honey

Try it on top of something spicy but light (chicken or fish).  I might go a little lighter on the honey, because I like things tangier. 

 

Ok off for more family fun. Italian for dinner with lots of families, so more food and (hopefully) more stories.

An Airplane Conversation…

Setting:

Row 8 of Flight 3329 Chicago Midway to St. Louis Airport

Cast:

40-Something Gentleman wearing a sport coat (houndstooth), slacks (pin-striped), and a polo (athletic short material, to be sure)

30-Something Woman wearing sweatpants, hoodie, mauve ?tank-top? (indiscernible because of aforementioned hoodie)

20 year old college student wearing shorts and a fishing t-shirt (children’s size xl)

40-Something Gentleman and 30-Something Woman continuing an ongoing conversation about the most boring topics once plane lands. After describing his work selling medical parts he isn’t sure how to use or how they were made, man flirtatiously asks woman what restaurants she goes to in Chicago

Man: Do you have any favorite restaurants in Chicago. Glances down at her breasts

Woman: Oh gosh, hmm. Yes. I love going out to dinner, but I can’t remember any names. Oh there is this Italian restaurant named… umm… Francesca’s? I think that’s the name. Plays with her hair and looks at phone. 

Man: I think I’ve heard of that…

Woman: Oh there’s that nice Mexican restaurant I can’t remember the name of. It’s good but who wants nice Mexican. I just think Mexican is supposed to be from a hole-in-the-wall.

College Boy’s eyes widen. 

Man: I totally agree

College Boy laughs and cries on the inside. Turns off MP3 player to hear the rest.

Woman: Do you watch American Idol?

Man: Of Course! My wife (College Boy loses all self-control and tact and giggles, but is ignored) told me I can’t miss tonight’s.

Woman: You’re married?

scene. 

Needless to say, I think it’s important to look for sources of entertainment in unlikely places.

As a lengthy aside. I am so confused by Southwest’s choice to give 100 calorie packs of wheat thins chips and also a bag of peanuts with no nutritional info. I think 100 calorie packs are dumb and the food equivalent of a cock-tease, but at least be consistent. What about the people who only want 100 calories? Why not make a 50 calorie pack of wheat thins chips and a 50 calorie pack of peanuts, so women in track suits and men in ill-fitting business attire don’t feel bloated upon arrival?

In food related news, my sister brought my mom a red-velvet cake cupcake from a cupcakery by Wash U. The cupcake was good (frosting b+, cake b-), but on top of the frosting was a square of peanut brittle which was delicious! Each time I eat brittle I re-affirm my love for the Amish and old people. 

Experimental Ideas for Peanut Brittle:

Baked Brie topped with crunched up Brittle and Golden Raisins

Apple, Pumpkin, or Banana-Cream pie topped with Peanut Brittle

Peanut Brittle topped with Cashew Brittle topped with Butter Toffee (ok this is only 1/2 serious)

 

Off to bed dear readers. Graduation Ceremony 1 tomorrow morning. Expect fun food posts with run-downs on dishes, funny outfits, and silly overheard banter. Keep your fingers crossed for a crazy alcoholic grandma siting!!